Well I’m back after almost 6 years!

mWow!  Where has the time gone?  And what has been going on?

Well first let me apologize for being away for so long.  A lot has gone on and I’m going to try to be a little more active in my blogging so hopefully it won’t be another 6 year break before I blog again.

All is well and I really had no excuse for not blogging on a regular basis except that life gets in the way.  But let me try to update you over the next couple of blog entries with life on Daniel Island and in Charleston.

As you know, the real estate industry had a real roller coaster ride over the last 6 years.  To summarize it from my perspective on Daniel Island, we were rolling along pretty well, took a hit much less worse than other areas of the country thankfully, and we are now in total rebound phase.  Things are busy!  I mean busy!

In the past 6 years, Charleston has received a number of awards but received a big one from the Conde Nast organization last year when it was voted the #1 destination city in the world, beating out Paris, Florence, Honolulu and other great cities.  Quite a coup for our little town and it has helped the recovering real estate market.  Also, the Boeing Company recently built a Dreamliner manufacturing plant near the Charleston airport that has brought a number of new employees to town and has made a major impact on our fine city.

Daniel Island has been booming as of late too.  Home sales last month (April ’13) increased 67% over April 2012.  On average, properties are selling for 95% of list price, a clear indication that we have made the turn to a seller’s market.  And they are selling 25% faster than last year at this time.  At Daniel Island Real Estate, five of the properties we listed in April sold almost instantly, going under contract before the month was through.  So needless to say, I’ve been busy which is great!  But never too busy to talk to you so give me a call at 843 475 6007 if you have any real estate questions and I’ll be happy to help.

On the personal side, my husband Steve and I are looking forward to celebrating our tenth anniversary this July and are blessed to have most of our health.  We seem to get banged up more easily now as we age and the recovery time takes a little longer but nothing that a hot bath or some ace bandages won’t take care of.  Our families are healthy and all in all, life in Charleston is wonderful.

As always, if you haven’t visited Charleston or Daniel Island, I encourage you to explore our area and if the bug hits you that you must live here or know someone who should, just give me a holler and I’d love to help!

That’s it for now and I promise that another 6 years will not elapse before I blog again.  Thanks for reading and feel free to share it and comment on it.

Best wishes,

Meg

Leave a Reply

