GO CUSE!

GO CUSE
I have to give a shout out today to my family and my husband as the #2 ranked and undefeated Syracuse Orange take on the Duke Blue Devils in the Carrier Dome. Forget the Super Bowl, this is the big game in my family this weekend! They are expecting over 35,000 people at the Dome making it the largest attendance for a regular season NCAA on campus basketball game or something like that. And to continue with the beer theme of my last post, the Dome is also one of the few places you can still drink a beer and watch a NCAA game. Don’t ask me how but you can.

Anyway, the blood runs orange in my family from two sources. My oldest brother Dave has 6 kids with his wife Linda. The oldest 5 of them are all SU grads. The 6th? — Well she went the way of UCONN and is a sophomore on the lacrosse team there. Not unlike Robert Frost, she took the road less travelled and good for her I say!

And much closer to home is my husband Steve, also an SU grad and avid alum. In fact, he just went to Winston-Salem on Wednesday to watch the Wake Forest/SU game with his nephew, another SU attendee. He said the Orange Nation was well represented at the game and Coach Jim Boeheim even was surprised at how much Orange was there. Many “Beat Duke!” t-shirts were seen as they have been amped for this game since it was announced.

So enjoy your Super Bowl weekend and at 6:30 tonight catch what should be a heckuva game. GO ‘CUSE!

An interesting article about my SU family: http://sumagazine.syr.edu/2010summer/alumnijournal/orangelegacy.html
And a great quick read: Robert Frost’s famous poem, “The Road Not Taken” — http://www.bartleby.com/119/1.html

One thought on “GO CUSE!

Leave a Reply

